“You Won’t Be Alone” wins the Bucheon Prize at BiFan Festival

The horror drama You Won’t Be Alone, directed by Goran Stolevski, won the Best Film award at the Bucheon International Fantastic Film Festival, Korea’s premier genre film event, on Thursday.

Set in Macedonia, the Australian-British-Serbian co-production stars Noomi Rapace in a 19th-century tale about a young girl who is turned into a witch. It premiered at the Sundance Festival in January and was recently performed in Sydney. At the Palm Springs festival, Stolevski won the Directors to Watch award.

His next feature film, Of An Age, about a whirlwind gay romance, has already been completed and is set to open as the Melbourne Film Festival’s opening film next month.

The BiFan jury praised “You Won’t Be Alone”. “It is a phenomenal attempt to interpret the basics of humanity through the means of genre cinema, using alienated and isolated human creatures borrowed from folk tales and shrouded in mysteries. This masterpiece features excellent direction and a clever approach that evokes empathy from the depths of human psychology,” the judges said.

“Body Parts,” a five-unit anthology film, won the Korean Fantastic Features section. His five horror stories are intended to stand alone as short films, but also be interconnected and be viewed as a feature film.

The festival lasts until Sunday and ends with Jung Bum-shik’s “New Normal”.

Bucheon Choice Award Winner: Features

The best of Bucheon (Cash prize of 20 million KRW)
“You will not be alone” you. Goran Stolevski

Best Director Choice (KRW 5 million)
Christian Tafdrup for “Speak No Evil”
Honorable Mention: Michelle Garza Cervera for “Huesera”

Choice of the jury (KRW 5 million)
“Vespers”, dirs. Kristina Buozyte and Bruno Samper.

audience award
“Sissy”, Dirs. Hannah Barlow and Kane Senes.

Méliès International Festivals Federation Award for Best Asian Film
“Midnight Maiden War”, dir. Ninomiya Ken

“Office Royale” dir. Seki Kazuaki

Korean Fantastic: Features

Korean Fantastic Movie (20 million KRW)
“Body parts”, dirs. Choe Wonkyung, Jeon Byeong Deok, Lee Gwang Jin, G’sam Kim Jang Mi, Seo Wally.

Korean Fantastic Best Director (5 million KRW)
Park Syeyoung for “The Fifth Thoracic Vertebra”

Korean fantastic actors (2 joint winners)
1) Jung Ryeo won in The Woman in the White Car
2) Seo Hyeon-woo in “Thunderbird”
Honorable Mention: Oh Dong-min in “Next Door”

Nonghyup Distribution Award (2 joint winners each receiving 10 million KRW)
1) “The fifth thoracic vertebra”, dir. Park Syeyoung
2) “Next door” dir. Yeom Ji Ho

Korean Fantastic Audience Award
“The fifth thoracic vertebra”, dir. Park Syeyoung

Watcha’s choice for features (2 joint winners each receiving 5 million KRW)
1) “The Woman in the White Car”, directed. Christine Ko
2) “Thunderbird”, dir. Lee Jaewon

Strange family price
Pororo Movie – Dragon Castle Adventure by Kang Seunghun and Yun Jea Wan

https://variety.com/2022/film/news/you-wont-be-alone-bucheon-festival-prize-bifan-1235317535/ “You Won’t Be Alone” wins the Bucheon Prize at BiFan Festival

Charles Jones

24ssports is an automatic aggregator of the all world’s media. In each content, the hyperlink to the primary source is specified. All trademarks belong to their rightful owners, all materials to their authors. If you are the owner of the content and do not want us to publish your materials, please contact us by email – admin@24ssports.com. The content will be deleted within 24 hours.

Related Articles

Back to top button