Oscars Governors Awards: Michael J. Fox, Peter Weir and Diane Warren

Euzhan Palcy, Diane Warren and Peter Weir will receive honorary Oscars at this year’s Governor Awards ceremony, the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences announced Tuesday. In addition, actor Michael J. Fox receives the Jean Hersholt Humanitarian Award. The four statuettes will be presented at the 13th annual ceremony on Saturday, November 19, 2022 in Los Angeles.

“The Academy Board of Governors is honored to recognize four individuals who have made an indelible contribution to cinema and the world at large,” said Academy President David Rubin. “Michael J. Fox’s relentless advocacy of Parkinson’s disease research and boundless optimism illustrate the impact of one person in transforming the future of millions. Euzhan Palcy is a seminal filmmaker whose seminal impact on international cinema is written in film history. Diane Warren’s music and lyrics have enhanced the emotional impact of countless motion pictures and inspired generations of musicians. Peter Weir is a director of consummate skill and artistry whose work reminds us of the power of film to reveal the full breadth of human experience.”

The honorary award is given “in honor of extraordinary awards for his life’s work, extraordinary contributions to the state of the art and science of film or for outstanding services to the academy”.

Australian filmmaker Weir has directed some of the most celebrated feature films of the past 40 years, beginning with Picnic at Hanging Rock (1975) and The Last Wave (1977). He directed the war drama The Year of Living Dangerously (1982), which won Linda Hunt an Academy Award for Best Supporting Actress. Weir landed his first Best Director nomination for the crime thriller Witness (1986), along with a total of eight nominations for the film, including Harrison Ford for his only acting role and two wins in the original screenplay (Earl W. Wallace, William Kelley, and Pamela Wallace ) and film editing (Thom Noble). Never committing to one genre, Weir has received five other Academy Award nominations throughout his career – 1989’s ‘Dead Poets Society’ (director), 1990’s ‘Green Card’ (original screenplay), 1998’s ‘The Truman Show’ ( Director) and Master and Commander: The Far Side of the World (Director and Best Picture). He also directed the film Fearless (1993), which earned Rosie Perez an Academy Award for Supporting Actress, one of the few Latinas ever nominated for acting.

Warren is one of the most prolific songwriters in history, having written original songs for more than 100 films. This has earned her a whopping 13 Oscar nominations in the Original Song category, starting with “Nothing’s Gonna Stop Us Now” from the fantasy romance flick Mannequin (1987) and most recently with “Somehow You Do” from the addiction drama ” Four Good Days” (2021). In between, she has written some of the most memorable tracks in film history, including “Because You Loved Me” from Up Close & Personal (1996), “How Do I Live” from “Con Air” (1997), “I Don’t Wanna Miss a Thing” from “Armageddon” (1998) and “Til It Happens to You” from the documentary “The Hunting Ground” (2015), shared with pop star Lady Gaga.

Born in Martinique in the French West Indies, Palcy is a popular writer, director and producer who has inspired filmmakers and artists around the world. Her feature debut Sugar Cane Alley (1983) won the Silver Lion at the Venice Film Festival, becoming the first black director ever to win the prestigious award, along with three other awards at the festival, including best actress for Darling Legitimate . Her next film, A Dry White Season (1989), made her the first black woman to direct for a major Hollywood studio and earned actor Marlon Brando his eighth and final Oscar nomination. Her last directorial work was the musical fairy tale “Siméon” (1992).

The Jean Hersholt Humanitarian Award, also an Oscar statuette, is given “to a person in the cinematographic arts and sciences whose humanitarian efforts have brought recognition to the industry.”

Fox has been part of some of the most memorable films and television series of the past 40 years. In addition to his work in Back to the Future (1985), which received four Oscar nominations, Fox also starred in such classics as Casualties of War (1989), Doc Hollywood (1991), The American President ( 1995) and The Horrors (1996). He’s run the gamut in television, earning five Emmy acting awards over the course of his career. Those wins came for Family Ties as Alex Keaton (leading actor in a 1986-88 comedy), Spin City as Mike Flaherty (leading actor in a 2000 comedy) and for his single episode of Rescue Me. plays Dwight (guest actor in a drama series in 2009). He also has four Golden Globes, a Grammy, and two Screen Actors Guild Awards to his credit.

In 2000 he founded the Michael J. Fox Foundation for Parkinson’s Research, today the world’s leading Parkinson’s organization. He is also the author of four New York Times bestsellers and the subject of a forthcoming documentary by Oscar winner Davis Guggenheim.

At last year’s ceremony, Danny Glover was honored with the Jean Hersholdt Humanitarian Award, with honorary Oscars going to Samuel L. Jackson, Elaine May and Liv Ullmann.

The 95th Academy Awards will take place on March 12, 2023.

https://variety.com/2022/awards/news/oscars-governors-awards-2022-diane-warren-michael-j-fox-1235299947/ Oscars Governors Awards: Michael J. Fox, Peter Weir and Diane Warren

Charles Jones

24ssports is an automatic aggregator of the all world’s media. In each content, the hyperlink to the primary source is specified. All trademarks belong to their rightful owners, all materials to their authors. If you are the owner of the content and do not want us to publish your materials, please contact us by email – admin@24ssports.com. The content will be deleted within 24 hours.

Related Articles

Back to top button