How the ladder system works in Diablo II: Resurrected

All Diablo games are fun for players who love crawling in dungeons, scavenging for gear and fighting the forces of evil. However, it is difficult to keep such games fresh once you have reached their “climax”. Blizzard developers got around this problem by creating seasons. Many people are familiar with these seasons from Diablo 3, but they originated in Diablo II, and now these seasons have started all over again in Diablo II: Resurrected. In this rebooted game, their seasonal gameplay is called the Ladder System. Let’s go through the quick basics that will help you understand this ranking system as we wrap up Season 1 and move into Season 2.

what is ladder

In the original Diablo II, this was a ranking system for hardcore fans to compete with other players. Unlike other ranked modes, you don’t play directly against other players. Instead, it’s more of a speed-run competition (where you can sometimes use your ladder buddies to help each other climb the ranks). All you have to do is create a character called “Leader” who cannot get any help from your non-Leader characters/items and has to complete a series of challenges and tasks within a given time.

During Diablo II’s original run, there were 27 seasons before developers moved on to Diablo 3 and other games.

For newer Diablo fans, it’s easy to see that this was the prequel game mode for Diablo 3’s season system. Later seasons of Diablo II’s Ladder even had their own special events and gameplay-changing items, just like Soul Shards and Angelic Crucibles. Where Diablo 3’s seasons are more about build goals and limited-time gear, Diablo II focuses on player speed, skill, and competition.

How does ranking work?

On the release date of any Diablo II Ladder season, load the game and create a new character. Then you have the choice to make them a ladder character instead of a normal one. There are several Ladder versions to choose from: Standard, Hardcore, Standard Expansion, and Hardcore Expansion.

In Diablo II: Resurrected, the highest level and experience you can reach is 99 and 3,520,000,000 respectively. So up to this point you’re ranked by level and experience, but once someone hits level 99 you’re ranked by who got there first. AKA, the first person to reach this character with max experience at level 99 gets first place. After that, everyone fights for the places below them.

Depending on your rank, you can earn high rank runewords, horadric dice formulas, and some unique item/gear drops.

When does Ladder Season 1 end and Season 2 begin?

The developers first released Ladder mode on April 28, 2022 for Diablo II: Resurrected. Players who are late to the party will need to get started with their Ladder characters quickly if they want to make a name for themselves. After all, Season 1 ends on August 25th. When Season 1 ends, the developers will take a short time to reset the system and then (probably) begin Season 2 of Ladder in early September. How the ladder system works in Diablo II: Resurrected

Curtis Crabtree

24ssports is an automatic aggregator of the all world’s media. In each content, the hyperlink to the primary source is specified. All trademarks belong to their rightful owners, all materials to their authors. If you are the owner of the content and do not want us to publish your materials, please contact us by email – The content will be deleted within 24 hours.

Related Articles

Back to top button