How can Barry Bonds, Roger Clemens, others still make it to the Walk of Fame if they didn’t win the title last year in the vote?

This is the 10th and final voting cycle on the BBWAA Hall of Fame ballot for the controversial trio of Hall of Fame candidates, who have come pretty close to intro, down to one. Wednesday. As things are currently tracking, it seems unlikely that Barry Bonds, Roger Clemens and Curt Schilling will reach the 75 percent threshold needed for inclusion in the Hall. Sammy Sosa is also in his 10th, although he hasn’t even hit 20 percent yet.

As such, the four will not vote for the 2023 voting cycle. The length of time a player once qualified to sit on the Hall of Fame ballot is 15 years, but the Hall of Fame has taken it down. down 10 years in 2014, apparently due to anxiety among some in the Hall of Fame about Bonds and Clemens. – and their PED relationship – can join.

Interestingly, we haven’t finished discussing any of these. In fact, we might not even get a year off.

There is another route into the Hall beyond the BBWAA vote: the so-called veterans committee. Last DecemberThe Early Baseball Era committee selected Buck O’Neil and Bud Fowler while the Golden Days Era committee selected Jim Kaat, Minnie Miñoso, Tony Oliva, and Gil Hodges as the Hall of Fame in the class of 2022.

This coming December, the Game Today committee will vote at the Winter Meeting. Via the Hall of Fame website, here are the duties of that committee:

Today’s Game Commission (the “Committee”) shall refer to the constituency that considers retired League Baseball players to be no longer eligible for election by the Ball Writers Association. Baseball USA (BBWAA), along with the managers, referees and executives, the biggest contributors to the game being realized from 1988-2016.

Guess which players will no longer qualify for the BBWAA poll but also made their biggest contributions from 1988-2016?

Yes! Bonds, Clemens, Schilling and Sosa.

Here’s how the 16-person voting body was formed: “The Today Game Committee will include 16 members, including members of the National Baseball Hall of Fame, executives and veteran media member.”

Twelve votes are required for the introduction.

It’s hard to determine what the regulators (Bruce Bochy, maybe?), the CEO (too early for Theo Epstein?) or the chief executive (Jim Joyce?) will get on the ballot, much less obtain the necessary support for management. It’s much easier to check what players can get on this ballot.

I’m not positive about Sosa, but it was an amazingly quick turnaround for players like Lee Smith, Jack Morris, Alan Trammell and Harold Baines between voting for the BBWAA and then being inducted into the Hall of Fame. through these committees. Through this lens, it looks like Bonds, Clemens and Schilling have a big chance of getting there immediately in December if they don’t get 75% of the vote this January.

Some other players who could be on the Today Era ballot this coming December:

Kenny Lofton, Fred McGriff, Johan Santana, Kevin Brown, Jim Edmonds, Will Clark, Lance Berkman, Roy Oswalt, Johnny Damon, Bernie Williams, Jorge Posada, Mark McGwire, Nomar Garciaparra, Carlos Delgado, Juan González, David Wells, John Franco , Albert Belle and Rafael Palmeiro.

Considering all the names I’ve included, I’d be extremely shocked if the committee – they meet and discuss all the candidates, individually, before voting, so maybe shape into a relative consensus – discourage at least one of these players, possibly many. Some of them (Lofton and Santana) didn’t get their fair shake on the BBWAA ballots for various reasons while others were forever worried and couldn’t get over the hump, like McGriff – oh, and Bonds, Clemens and Schilling.

So while we may have thought, although temporarily, we’ve finished discussing these people’s Walk of Fame nominations, it’s likely just an 11-month pardon. How can Barry Bonds, Roger Clemens, others still make it to the Walk of Fame if they didn’t win the title last year in the vote?

Charles Jones

24ssports is an automatic aggregator of the all world’s media. In each content, the hyperlink to the primary source is specified. All trademarks belong to their rightful owners, all materials to their authors. If you are the owner of the content and do not want us to publish your materials, please contact us by email – The content will be deleted within 24 hours.

Related Articles

Back to top button