Sports

“Fire her”, Stefanos Tsitsipas, angry at the referee over the toilet break controversy, receives a penalty » FirstSportz

Carlos Alcaraz and Stefanos Tsitsipas | Tennis News | FirstSportz
Carlos Alcaraz and Stefanos Tsitsipas

At the Barcelona Open Banc Sabadell, Carlo Alcaraz defeated Jaume Munar 6-3, 6-3, with a break in each set to set up a quarterfinal encounter Stefanos Tsitsipas. In this hard-fought quarter-final match, the young Spaniard managed to snatch the game away from the veteran Greek, who had won last week’s game Monte Carlo championwith a final score of 4-6, 7-5, 2-6.

Stefanos Tsitsipas is punished twice

Stefanos Tsitsipas | Tennis News | FirstSportz
Stefanos Tsitsipas

The Greek was down a setbut he fought back to win the second set 7-5. Stefanos Tsitsipas complained to the referee during the last set when he was about to get bagel that it was Carlos Alcaraz takes too long in the washroom. When his complaint was rejected, Tsitsipas got angry and said: “If you’re wrong, you should be fired.” The Greek has been penalized twice after being found guilty of changing his shirt too slowly during the substitution. In addition, he took a long break in the third set when he was 3-0 down.

Although this is not the first time that the tennis circle and specifically Stefanos Tsespas addresses the controversy surrounding the toilet break. One and two breaks were allowed in best-of-three and best-of-five set matches, respectively. The rules said players could take a “reasonable” Duration without naming the exact duration.

However, the rules changed when players played on both Women’s ATP and WTA Circuits have been accused of using toilet breaks tactically at crucial moments of a competition; to clear your head and/or disrupt your opponent’s rhythm. Things became a hot topic at the 2021 US Open when world No. 4 Stefanos Tsitsipas was booed during his matches for taking multiple breaks. In his opening match against Andy Murray, Tsitsipas took an extended toilet break at the end of the second set, a medical timeout after the third and an eight-minute break at the end of the fourth set.

A game full of controversy

Carlos Alcaráz | Tennis News | FirstSportz
Carlo Alcaraz

It was supposed to be a hard-fought clash between the two tennis pros, and that’s exactly what it was supposed to be. The Greek who came to that Barcelona open Wrapped up in the glory of last week’s Monte Carlo Masters, Alcaraz’s beautiful drop shots seemed troubled. It became even clearer when the Spaniard snatched the first set from him.

Aside from Alcaraz’s wonderful drop shots, another event happened. Tsitsipas shot the tennis ball straight at the Spaniard in the last game of the opening set, forcing him to do so duck down to avoid the shot. After the shot, Alcaraz made some comments that have yet to be revealed. It’s still unclear if the shot was intentional or from the flow of the game, but what’s even more amazing is that the Greek scored no attempt at apology to the Spaniard after such a massive incident.

also read: PM: Stefanos Tsitsipas smashes the ball into Carlos Alcaraz, doesn’t apologize

https://firstsportz.com/tennis-news-fire-them-stefanos-tsitsipas-furious-at-umpire-over-toilet-break-controversy-receives-penalty/ “Fire her”, Stefanos Tsitsipas, angry at the referee over the toilet break controversy, receives a penalty » FirstSportz

Subhankar Mondal

24ssports is an automatic aggregator of the all world’s media. In each content, the hyperlink to the primary source is specified. All trademarks belong to their rightful owners, all materials to their authors. If you are the owner of the content and do not want us to publish your materials, please contact us by email – admin@24ssports.com. The content will be deleted within 24 hours.

Related Articles

Back to top button