DII Women’s Soccer Team with Most NCAA DII National Championships

The Grand Valley State made DII women’s soccer history in 2019. By winning the 2019 DII, it gave the Lakers six national championships, the most championships ever in history. history of this sport. Since Cal State East Bay became the first national champion in 1988, beating Barry 1-0, the five shows have won multiple championships.

TRAVEL NEWSLETTER IN 2019: Round scores, stats and highlights

That 1988 title was the only one for Cal State East Bay, but Barry would reciprocate, winning the next season and quickly becoming the first show to have multiple national championships. Here are the shows with the most DII women’s soccer titles.

THAN: Bridgeport wins its first title in 2018

Grand Valley State, 6 (2009, 2010, 13-15, 2019)

NCAA photo
Women's soccer DII

The Lakers are the current form of a dynasty, appearing in nine of the last eleven national title games, taking their historic sixth win in 2019. Grand Valley State almost made it to the fourth round. peat in 2016, losing to Western Washington in the final 3-2. The NCAA DII record book is chock full of team stats and some of the greatest individual players in the sport’s history to come out of this grand slam seem to have no end.

Franklin Pierce, 5 years old (1994-97, 99)

NCAA photo
Women's soccer DII

Head coach Mark Krikorian started in 1994, Jeff Bailey ended in 1997 as Raven ran away with four consecutive national championships, an achievement second to none. The four Franklin Pierce teams drew 78-1, beating their opponents 11-0 in the title match. The Ravens took a brief sabbatical in 1998 before returning in ’99 with their fifth and now final championship, eventually conceding a goal, winning 3-1 over Cal Poly Pomona.

THAN: Missouri Western ends 32 win streak at No. 1 Central Missouri

Barry, 3 (1989, 92, 93)

The Bucs rebounded quickly from losing their first DII women’s soccer championship by going an undefeated season in 1989 and beating Keene State 4-0 for their first national championship. Barry returned to the theme game two years later and became the first repeat national champion in the DII lore. The Bucs lost one more time in 1995 and haven’t returned since.

UC San Diego, 2 (2000, 01)

NCAA photo
Women's soccer DII

From 1996 to 1999, UC San Diego won three of four championships as a member of Division III. Increasing DII in 2000 does not seem to have much effect on Tritons. They won 21-2 in 2000 and will do the same in 2001, both times leading to the national championship.

Metro State, 2 (2004, 06)

NCAA photo
Women's soccer DII

Head coach Danny Sanchez spent six seasons at Denver. During his time there, the Roadrunners won six consecutive titles in the regular season of the Rocky Mountain Athletics Conference, reached the NCAA each season, and made the national quarterfinals in five of those six years. Metro State has peaked twice in three years with the best of one of the more successful programs in DII women’s soccer.

Here is the complete list of every national champion.

2019 Grand Valley State (January 25) Jeff Hosler 1-0 (2 CARDS) Western Washington Pittsburgh, Pa.
2018 Bridgeport (20-4-1) Magnus Nilerud 1-0 Valley of Grand St. Pittsburgh, Pa.
2017 Central Missouri (26-0-0) Lewis Theobald 1-1 (5-3 PK) Carson-Newman Kansas City, Mo.
2016 Western Washington (23-0-1) Travis Connell 3-2 Grand Valley State Kansas City, Mo.
2015 Grand Valley State (23-1-1) Jeff Hosler 2-0 State of Columbus Pensacola, Fla.
2014 Grand Valley State (February 22) Jeff Hosler 3-0 Rollins Louisville, Ky.
two thousand and thirteen Grand Valley State (24-0-1) Dave Dilanni 2-0 West Florida Evans, Ga.
2012 West Florida (24-1-0) Joe Bartlinski 1-0 UC San Diego Evans, Ga.
2011 Saint Rose (24-1-1) Laurie Darling Gutheil 2-1 Grand Valley State Pensacola, Fla.
2010 Grand Valley State (January 22) Dave Dilanni 4-0 UC San Diego Louisville, Ky.
2009 Grand Valley State (April 22) Dave Dilanni 1-0 Cal State Dominguez Hill Tampa
2008 Seattle Pacific (22-1-2) Chuck Sekyra 1-0 (2 CARDS) West Florida Tampa
2007 * Tampa (20-2-3) Gerry Lucey 0-0 (2OT, PK) Franklin Pierce Orange Beach, Ala.
2006 Metro State (February 24) Danny Sanchez 1-0 (END) Grand Valley State Pensacola, Fla.
2005 Nebraska-Omaha (February 20) Don Klosterman 2-1 (Half) Seattle Pacific Wichita Falls, Texas
2004 Big city states (January 25) Danny Sanchez 3-2 Adelphi Wichita Falls, Texas
2003 Kennesaw State (January 25) Rob King 2-0 Franklin Pierce Virginia Beach
2002 Christian Brothers (January 22) Gareth O’Sullivan 2-1 Nebraska-Omaha Virginia Beach
2001 UC San Diego (February 21) Brian McManus 2-0 Christian brothers UC San Diego
2000 UC San Diego (February 21) Brian McManus 2-1 Northern Kentucky Barry
1999 Franklin Pierce (20-1) Jeff Bailey 3-1 Cal Poly Pomona Barry
1998 Lynn (19-1) Rocky Orezzoli 3-1 Sonoma State Lynn
1997 Franklin Pierce (21-0) Jeff Bailey 3-0 West Virginia Wesleyan Cal State Dominguez Hill
1996 Franklin Pierce (18-1) Jeff Bailey 1-0 Lynn Lynn
1995 Franklin Pierce (19-0) Mark Krikorian 5-0 Barry Franklin Pierce
1994 Franklin Pierce (20-0) Mark Krikorian 2-0 Regis (Colo.) Franklin Pierce
1993 Barry (17-1) Mike Covone 2-0 Cal Poly Barry
1992 Barry (17-2) Mike Covone 3-2 Adelphi Adelphi
1991 Cal State Dominguez (April 18) Sea canoe 2-1 Sonoma State Cal State Dominguez Hill
1990 Sonoma Status (April 14) Peter Reynaud 2-0 State of Keene Barry
1989 Barry (17-0-1) Mike Covone 4-0 State of Keene Barry
1988 East Cal State Bay (February 18) Colin Lindores 1-0 Barry Barry

https://www.ncaa.com/news/soccer-women/article/2019-12-26/dii-womens-soccer-teams-most-ncaa-dii-national-championships DII Women’s Soccer Team with Most NCAA DII National Championships

Jake Nichol

Jake Nichol is a 24ssports U.S. News Reporter based in London. His focus is on U.S. politics and the environment. He has covered climate change extensively, as well as healthcare and crime. Jake Nichol joined 24ssports in 2021 from the Daily Express and previously worked for Chemist and Druggist and the Jewish Chronicle. He is a graduate of Cambridge University. Languages: English. You can get in touch with me by emailing: jakenichol@24ssports.com.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button