DII field hockey programs with the most NCAA DII national championships

In 1981, Pfeiffer played against Bentley in the first ever DII Field Hockey Championship. Pfeiffer won with a score of 5-3. Their five goals would have been the most-scored until 2002 when Bloomsburg hit that total. While it was Pfeiffer’s only national championship, the trend of repeating championships began the following season.

Lock Haven won in 1982 and Bloomsburg followed with its first title in 1983. The championship match was interrupted for nine years and returned in 1992. Lock Haven and Bloomsburg combined to win nine. next national championship until Bentley can break through and finish two powerhouse shows.

THAN: Shippensburg wins straight third 2018 title

Below are the programs with the most DII field hockey national championships.

Bloomsburg, 13 (1983, 1993, 1996-99, 2002-04, 2006-09)

NCAA photo
DII . Field Hockey Championship

Simply put, the Huskies set the benchmark when it comes to DII field hockey. Although they haven’t won a title since the retirement of the legendary Jan Hutchinson (she still works as a volunteer assistant), their names are all over the record books for individual and team awards. . Bloomsburg has lost more title games (five) than all but one show won.

How impressive was Hutchinson’s run? Along with 13 national titles and 591 career wins, the third-most of all time in any tournament, she is also a head softball coach, setting a record 1,215-288-2 during an illustrious career. mine. She was the all-time winning DII softball coach until Wayne State’s Gary Bryce broke the record just two seasons ago.

Haven Course, 5 (1982, 1992, 1994-95, 2000)

The Bald Eagles are a first-person field hockey team. They were the first program to win the title when the national championship resumed in 1992. They were also the first repeat champion in DII field hockey lore, returning in a row on the events. 1994 and 1995. Bloomsburg and Lock Haven became the sport’s Rocky Balboa and Apollo Creed, facing each other in seven consecutive championships and eight finals.

Shippensburg, 4 (2013, 2016-18)

2016 DII Field Hockey: Championship Summary

The Raiders won three titles in a row in 2018. Head coach Bertie Landes handed the reins to Tara Zollinger in 2017 and Shippensburg didn’t miss a beat as Zollinger became the first head coach. won the title in his first year as head coach. . Now she is 2 for 2. Not a bad start to her career.

THAN: These questions will be answered in the 2018 season

West Chester, 3 (2010-11, 2019)

Golden Rams currently has 3 national championships. West Chester made the most of his opportunities and was flawless in the title game appearances. West Chester faced Mass-Lowell in both 2010 and 2011 and won before claiming a third title against Saint Anselm in 2019.

Mass-Lowell, 2 (2005, 2010)

Mass-Lowell will have several more titles to its name except for one problem. Bloomsburg. Mass-Lowell has lost four national championships to the Huskies, including three in a row from 2007 to 2009. Despite only two titles, head coach Shannon Hlebichuk has had a ton of strength. field hockey DII, appearing in eight national championship games over a ten-year period. .

2019 West Chester (20-1) Amy Cohen 2-1 Saint Anselm Millersville
2018 Shippensburg (April 19) Tara Zollinger 1-0 END East Stroudsburg Pittsburgh, Pa.
2017 Shippensburg (April 17) Tara Zollinger 4-1 LIU Sign Louisville
2016 Shippensburg (March 20) Bertie Landes 2-1 LIU Sign Stonehill
2015 East Stroudsburg (March 18) Sandy Miller 1-0 Merrimack Bloomsburg
2014 Millersville (March 20) Shelly Behrens 1-0 LIU Sign Louisville
two thousand and thirteen Shippensburg (January 20) Bertie Landes 2-1 (ot) LIU Sign Old Dominions
2012 West Chester (20-2) Amy Cohen 5-0 Mass-Lowell Mass-Lowell
2011 West Chester (April 17) Amy Cohen 2-1 Mass-Lowell Bloomsburg
2010 Mass-Lowell (24-0) Shannon Hlebichuk 1-0 Shippensburg Bellarmine
2009 Bloomsburg (January 22) Jan Hutchinson 3-2 Mass-Lowell Stonehill
2008 Bloomsburg (January 23) Jan Hutchinson 6-2 Mass-Lowell Bloomsburg
2007 Bloomsburg (April 21) Jan Hutchinson 5-2 Mass-Lowell Mass-Lowell
2006 Bloomsburg (24-0) Jan Hutchinson 1-0 Bentley Pensacola, Fla.
2005 Mass-Lowell (March 20) Shannon Hlebichuk 2-1 (2ot) * Bloomsburg Shippensburg
2004 Bloomsburg (March 21) Jan Hutchinson 3-2 (ot) Bentley Mass-Lowell
2003 Bloomsburg (February 22) Jan Hutchinson 4-1 Mass-Lowell Mass-Lowell
2002 Bloomsburg (21-0) Jan Hutchinson 5-0 Bentley Haven Lock
2001 Bentley (January 22) Kelly McGowan 4-2 East Stroudsburg Bentley
2000 Lock Haven (February 21) Pat Rudy 2-0 Bentley Haven Lock
1999 Bloomsburg (19-0) Jan Hutchinson 2-0 Bentley Bloomsburg
1998 Bloomsburg (January 21) Jan Hutchinson 4-3 (ot) Haven Lock Haven Lock
1997 Bloomsburg (March 20) Jan Hutchinson 2-0 Kutztown Bloomsburg
1996 Bloomsburg (February 19) Jan Hutchinson 1-0 Haven Lock Haven Lock
1995 Haven Lock (20-0) Sharon Taylor 1-0 Bloomsburg Haven Lock
1994 Lock Haven (18-2) Sharon Taylor 2-1 Bloomsburg Haven Lock
1993 Bloomsburg (16-2-1) Jan Hutchinson 2-1 (2ot) * Haven Lock Bloomsburg
1992 Haven Course (15-5-1) Sharon Taylor 3-1 Bloomsburg Haven Lock
1983 Bloomsburg (16-2-1) Jan Hutchinson 1-0 Haven Lock Haven Lock
1982 Haven Lock (16-1) Sharon Taylor 4-1 Bloomsburg Bloomsburg
1981 Pfeiffer (9-4) Ellen Briggs 5-3 Bentley Pfeiffer

https://www.ncaa.com/news/fieldhockey/article/2018-09-24/dii-field-hockey-programs-most-ncaa-dii-national-championships DII field hockey programs with the most NCAA DII national championships

Subhankar Mondal

Subhankar Mondal is a 24ssports U.S. News Reporter based in London. His focus is on U.S. politics and the environment. He has covered climate change extensively, as well as healthcare and crime. Subhankar Mondal joined 24ssports in 2021 from the Daily Express and previously worked for Chemist and Druggist and the Jewish Chronicle. He is a graduate of Cambridge University. Languages: English. You can get in touch with me by emailing: subhankarmondal@24ssports.com.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button