City Committee of Mt. Pleasant Elects Amy Perschbacher Mayor – The Morning Sun


The Pleasant City Commission of Mt. elected Amy Perschbacher as Mayor.

The previous mayor, Will Joseph, announced in November that he had chosen to leave the city to become the village manager in Paw Paw. As the previous Deputy Mayor, Perschbacher assumed the position until a new mayor was chosen from among the sitting commissioners in January.

Prior to that, Perschbacher also maintained his position as one of the Mountain Pleasure City Commissioners with 1,393 votes.

Perschbacher had previously received much criticism for previously posting a Facebook post showing the flag’s image Blue thin outline with the blue line drawn back to represent the Nazi swastika. . There was a motion to criticize her for the post but it was unsuccessful as other commissioners called the post a First Amendment form of free speech.

She was also criticized for her role as a member of the city committee that issued an ordinance on the city’s current recreational marijuana facility, as many pro-cannabis activists criticized the city’s process for two out of three licenses granted to Lume, a retail cannabis company.

Perschbacher was elected at the committee’s January 10 meeting. On top of that, Olivia Cyman has been elected Deputy Mayor and Perschbacher, Brian Assmann, Elizabeth Busch, and Maureen Eke have been sworn in, as newly elected commissioners by City Clerk Heather Bouck.

The City Commission also has an open seat with a term running from May 4, 2022 – December 31, 2023.

Nominations are available at City Hall, office of the City Clerk, 320 W. Broadway Street, from 8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m., Monday through Friday. A completed nomination form that requires a minimum of 50 and a maximum of 80 certified signatures may be submitted to the City Clerk between Friday, December 17, 2021 and 4:00 p.m. on Tuesday. , January 18, 2022. For nominations, visit:

Municipal elections will take place on Tuesday, May 3.

City of Mt. Pleasant is offering a combination of in-person and virtual attendance (combined meeting option) for City Council, Planning Commission, and Area Appeals Board meetings. This is an attempt to slow the spread of COVID-19.

Meetings will take place at City Chambers / City Hall (320 W. Broadway Street). Virtual attendance options for non-voting participants include watching on the City’s YouTube Channel, on Spectrum Charter channel 188, or via Zoom.

Meeting agendas, package materials, and step-by-step instructions on how to attend a meeting are virtually available in the City Update on the City’s website at

Persons with disabilities who need assistance to participate can call the Human Resources office
at (989) 779-5314. Persons requiring hearing or speech assistance may contact the City through the Michigan Relay Center at 711. 48 hours notice is required for accommodation. City Committee of Mt. Pleasant Elects Amy Perschbacher Mayor – The Morning Sun

Charles Jones

24ssports is an automatic aggregator of the all world’s media. In each content, the hyperlink to the primary source is specified. All trademarks belong to their rightful owners, all materials to their authors. If you are the owner of the content and do not want us to publish your materials, please contact us by email – The content will be deleted within 24 hours.

Related Articles

Back to top button