Bathurst 1000: Red flag, red flag, red flag: Bathurst was rocked by a high-speed crash as drama rocked the opening day

Mount Panorama was rocked by a frightening crash that halted Dunlop Super2 Series practice during an action-packed opening day.

While Matt McLean was leading the practice session, all eyes were on Brendan Strong as he brought the session to a bone-rattling stop after crashing his Commodore VE into the barriers at Turn 2 at high speed.

WATCH THE VIDEO ABOVE: Scary crash at Bathurst as Strong hits barriers at high speed.

Seven and 7plus offers motorsport action throughout the year, including coverage of the entire Supercars season. Stream for free on 7plus >>

The session was suspended for over 20 minutes as officers pulled out Strong’s car and repaired the barriers.

Replays showed Strong hitting the barriers of Griffin’s Bend with pace while at the other end of the circuit – and at the same time – James Masterton buried his car in the sand at Murray’s Corner.

“This is Brendan Strong and this car has dug deep and there’s another one like that. So two completely separate incidents at the same time,” the commentator said.

Brendan Strong’s Commodore VE after crashing into the barriers on the opening day of Bathurst during the Supercars Dunlop Support Series. Recognition: screenshot

As control center repeatedly called the red flag, commentators described Strong’s collision as “really late, very fast and huge contact with that tire barrier.”

Session time has been increased to make up for lost minutes.

McLean came out fastest after the first restart but his Eggleston Motorsport teammate Cameron Crick crashed his car seconds after McLean’s attempt at The Chase.

At the time of the red flag, Tyler Everingham was leading with 2:07.999 seconds. Practice 1 fast man Cameron Hill jumped to the lead, albeit by 0.002s while Declan Fraser was 0.03s behind his teammate.

Times tumbled and McLean rose to the top with a 2:07.103, just 0.02 ahead of Everingham.

Hill finished third ahead of Zak Best and Fraser, with Angelo Mouzouri sixth.

Matt Payne, Thomas Maxwell, Reef McCarthy and Jay Hanson completed the top 10.

The cars will return to the track for qualifying for Race 1 on Friday at 9:20am local time.

Young tomboy Kai Allen used to cause chaos when he lost a wheel that rolled about 500m.

Bathurst 1000 schedule and TV coverage

FRIDAY 7 OCTOBER

Practice, qualifying and support series

Sydney 10am live on Channel 7 and 7plus

Melbourne 10am live on Channel 7 and 7plus

Brisbane 9am live on Channel 7 and 7plus

Adelaide 9.30am live on Channel 7 and 7plus

Perth 7am live on 7mate and 7plus

Pit Lane Live

Sydney 7pm live on 7plus, repeat 8pm on 7mate

Melbourne 7pm live on 7plus, repeat 10pm on 7mate

Brisbane 6pm live on 7plus, repeat 7pm on 7mate

Adelaide 6.30pm live on 7plus, repeat 7.30pm on 7mate

Perth 4pm live on 7mate and 7plus

Last year’s winners Chaz Mostert and Lee Holdsworth are rivals from Holden and Ford in 2022. Recognition: AAP

SATURDAY 8 OCTOBER

Exercise and support series

Sydney 10am live on Channel 7 and 7plus

Melbourne 10am live on Channel 7 and 7plus

Brisbane 9am live on Channel 7 and 7plus

Adelaide 9.30am live on Channel 7 and 7plus

Perth 7am live on 7mate and 7plus, 9am live on Channel 7 and 7plus

Supercar – Top 10 Shootout

Sydney 5.05pm live on Channel 7 and 7plus

Melbourne 5.05pm live on Channel 7 and 7plus

Brisbane 4.05pm live on Channel 7 and 7plus

Adelaide 4.35pm live on Channel 7 and 7plus

Perth 2.05pm live on Channel 7 and 7plus

SUNDAY 9 OCTOBER

Warm up

Sydney 7.30am live on Channel 7 and 7plus

Melbourne 7.30am live on Channel 7 and 7plus

Brisbane 6.30am live on Channel 7 and 7plus

Adelaide 7am live on Channel 7 and 7plus

Perth 4.30pm live on Channel 7 and 7plus

Bathurst 1000 race

Sydney 10.30am live on Channel 7 and 7plus

Melbourne 10.30am live on Channel 7 and 7plus

Brisbane 9.30am live on Channel 7 and 7plus

Adelaide 10am live on Channel 7 and 7plus

Perth 7.30am live on Channel 7 and 7plus

– with Supercars.com

New team, new co-driver but Bathurst champion doesn’t feel the pressure.

New team, new co-driver but Bathurst champion doesn’t feel the pressure.

https://7news.com.au/sport/motorsport/red-flag-red-flag-red-flag-bathurst-rocked-by-high-speed-crash-as-drama-rattles-the-mountain-on-opening-day-c-8465814 Bathurst 1000: Red flag, red flag, red flag: Bathurst was rocked by a high-speed crash as drama rocked the opening day

James Brien

24ssports is an automatic aggregator of the all world’s media. In each content, the hyperlink to the primary source is specified. All trademarks belong to their rightful owners, all materials to their authors. If you are the owner of the content and do not want us to publish your materials, please contact us by email – admin@24ssports.com. The content will be deleted within 24 hours.

Related Articles

Back to top button