Aidan Hutchinson has come closer to Heisman than any defensive player in a decade

Michigan defense Aidan Hutchinson didn’t win the Heisman Trophy but he has come closer than any defensive player in a decade.

The defensive players just didn’t win the Heisman Trophy.

Charles Woodson was the last to do so in 1997 and he even returned to duty and part-time work to help propel him to the top.

So while Aidan Hutchinson may be disappointed not to win the statue, he may be heartbroken to learn that he has come closer than most players on his own ball.

Aidan Hutchinson finished second in the Heisman Trophy vote

In fact, Hutchinson’s total of 954 points is the most for a defensive player since Notre Dame full-back Manti Te’o in 2012. by CBS Sports’ Adam Silverstein.

Last year, no defender in college football received Heisman’s vote. Chase Young received 643 points and 20 votes in first place in 2019.

Quinnen Williams of Alabama has 27 points in 2018. Roquan Smith of Georgia has 38 in 2017. The 2016 poll has 208 points for Michigan’s Jabrill Peppers and 132 for Alabama’s Jonathan Allen. In 2014, Scooby Wright from Arizona got 21 points.

When Te’o scored 1,706 points, he was only 323 points behind Johnny Manziel.

Going back to Woodson’s win, only Te’o has scored more points in the Heisman poll than Hutchinson selected this year.

Hutchinson has come close but he will have to watch and wait for the rest of the world of college football to see when a defensive player will finally break through. It would probably be Alabama’s second-placed Will Anderson, who received a total of 325 points and 31 votes in first place, more than finalists Kenny Pickett and CJ Stroud.

For more Football NCAA FanSided’s unique news, analysis, opinions and coverage, including Heisman Trophy and College football tournament charts, be sure to bookmark these pages. Aidan Hutchinson has come closer to Heisman than any defensive player in a decade

Huynh Nguyen

24ssports is an automatic aggregator of the all world’s media. In each content, the hyperlink to the primary source is specified. All trademarks belong to their rightful owners, all materials to their authors. If you are the owner of the content and do not want us to publish your materials, please contact us by email – The content will be deleted within 24 hours.

Related Articles

Back to top button