AACTA Award Winners: Baz Luhrmann’s Elvis and Chris Hemsworth Clean Up

Two of Australia’s biggest Hollywood exports, Baz Luhrmann and Chris Hemsworth, walked away with top gongs at this year’s AACTA Awards.

Luhrmann’s Elvis won the coveted Best Picture award, among many others, while Hemsworth received this year’s Trailblazer Award for his contribution to the industry.

WATCH THE VIDEO ABOVE: The stars of Elvis speak to 7Entertainment

Watch all your favorite shows on Channel 7 or stream for free on 7plus >>

Elvis star Austin Butler won best actor for his portrayal of the king, along with Olivia DeJonge, who took home the award for best supporting actress in the film.

The Australian Academy of Cinema Television Arts held its gala show at the Hordern Pavilion in Sydney on Wednesday, following its industry awards ceremony on Monday.

Luhrmann also received the Best Director award, bringing the film’s total number of awards to seven.

Actor Austin Butler plays Elvis in the big screen biopic. Recognition: Warner brothers
Australian director Baz Luhrmann at the afterparty for his film Elvis at the Cannes Film Festival. Recognition: AP

Mystery Road: Origin similarly swept in the TV categories, winning Best Drama Series and Best Actor for stars Mark Coles Smith and Tuuli Narkle.

Hemsworth has been recognized for giving back to Australia’s local film industry from his base in the North Coast region of NSW, where he uses his film star status to bring global production to Australia.

The Thor actor described it as a “great honor” to accept the award from AACTA President Russell Crowe.

“I don’t take for granted the opportunities that the Australian screen industry has offered me and am excited and proud for the rest of the world to be discovering how great it is to see world-class films Down Under with our incredible crews and creatives make. ” he said.

“I feel like we’re all just getting started.”

Chris Hemsworth received the Trailblazer Award for his contribution to the display industry. (Bianca De Marchi/AAP PHOTOS) Recognition: AAP

Costume and set designer Catherine Martin, who has won the most Oscars of any Australian for her work on previous Luhrmann films, received the Longford Lyell Award for her worldwide contribution and influence.

The teen drama reboot Heartbreak High proved popular with viewers, winning three Audience Choice Awards including Best TV Show, Best Actor for Bryn Chapman and Best Actress for Chloe Hayden.

The publicly voted categories continued, with TikTok star Kat Clark being named Best Digital Creator and ex-reality star Abbie Chatfield being crowned Australia’s Best TV Personality.

Abbie Chatfield. Recognition: Instagram/Abbie Chatfield

AACTA executive director Damian Trewhella described it as a phenomenal year for the Australian screen.

“These awards recognize the tremendous effort and skill that goes into a production and honor the hard-working creatives and artists who entertain us,” he said.

For the full list of winners click here.

For more immersive entertainment content, visit 7Life on Facebook.

Chris Hemsworth’s bathtub video sparks a frenzy

Chris Hemsworth’s bathtub video sparks a frenzy

https://7news.com.au/entertainment/two-of-australias-biggest-hollywood-exports-clean-up-at-aacta-awards-c-9091548 AACTA Award Winners: Baz Luhrmann’s Elvis and Chris Hemsworth Clean Up

James Brien

24ssports is an automatic aggregator of the all world’s media. In each content, the hyperlink to the primary source is specified. All trademarks belong to their rightful owners, all materials to their authors. If you are the owner of the content and do not want us to publish your materials, please contact us by email – admin@24ssports.com. The content will be deleted within 24 hours.

Related Articles

Back to top button