5 Hawkeyes Win 10 Majors After Season – Iowa College of Athletics

IOWA CITY, Iowa – Five University of Iowa football players have won the title following the post-season Big Ten Conference, the federation office announced Thursday.

Sara Wheaton was named to the All-Big Ten’s second team. Alyssa Walker and Hailey Rydberg receive their third team title. Addie Bundy was the unanimous choice on the All-Freshman team, and Riley Whitaker was one of 14 players to win the game spirit award.

The team’s post-season 2021 marks the first time in 21 years that Iowa has three players named to one of the All-Big Ten’s top three teams. In 2000, Sarah Lynch (first team), Julie Atkocaitis (second team) and Kate Walse were all recognized by the board.

Wheaton started all 18 games, scoring a team-high 1,646 minutes. She played all 17 of Iowa’s 18 competitions. Chandler, Arizona, home to one goal and three assists, led a defense that has scored six screamers.

Walker leads Iowa and is third in the conference with eight goals. She scored three team-best-match winning goals and 18 points. The graduate transfer from Richmond started 17 of 18 games.

Rydberg started all 18 games in midfield, where she led the team and finished fourth in the conference with seven assists. Player from St. Charles, Illinois, is the team’s captain in 2021 and has played all four games this season.

Bundy becomes the 12th Hawkeye in the show’s history, and the third in as many years, to be named to the Big Ten All-Freshman group. Fort Collins, Colorado, native is second on the team and eighth in the conference with six assists. She was one of two conference freshmen who were unanimously selected for the freshman group.

Whitaker, a senior from Ankeny, Iowa, is the recipient of the Iowa Big Ten Sports Spirit Award. Whitaker missed the start of the season through injury but made 10 appearances in 13 appearances, playing all five games.

The Hawkeyes are seeded fifth at the Big Ten Conference 2021 and Sunday’s open game at 1pm (CT) against fourth-seeded Michigan State. The game was streamed live on BTN+.

All-Big Ten Second Team
Sara Wheaton, defense

Third Team All-Big Ten
Alyssa Walker, striker
Hailey Rydberg, midfielder

All Freshmen Group
Addie Bundy, midfielder (unanimous)

Sports Spirit Award
Riley Whitaker


https://hawkeyesports.com/news/2021/10/28/5-hawkeyes-earn-big-ten-postseason-honors-2/ 5 Hawkeyes Win 10 Majors After Season – Iowa College of Athletics

John Verrall

24ssports is an automatic aggregator of the all world’s media. In each content, the hyperlink to the primary source is specified. All trademarks belong to their rightful owners, all materials to their authors. If you are the owner of the content and do not want us to publish your materials, please contact us by email – admin@24ssports.com. The content will be deleted within 24 hours.

Related Articles

Back to top button